Pell Grant To Pay For School

I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of a Pell Grant but they are amazing! I want to share with you my personal experience with this government grant and how it helped me pay for school. I had heard of these types of grants before and didn’t think much about them until my friend got one through the university he was attending. The money went to pay for his tuition and what was left over he got to keep! The best part was that he didn’t have to pay any of it back! It was like free money from the Federal Government! Thanks Uncle Sam! Well after hearing that I was definitely excited so I decided to look into it more.
After searching online a little bit I found some useful information on how this grant works. According to the U.S. Department of Education the Federal Pell Grant Program provides need-based grants to low-income undergraduate and certain post baccalaureate students to promote access to post secondary education. There are about 5,400 different post secondary schools that accept this government grant so it’s not hard to find a college where you can apply for this grant. The amount of money you will get from the Federal Government depends on how much money your family is contributing towards your education, the cost of attendance, student’s enrollment status, and whether you attend for a full academic year or less. Oh and you can’t receive Federal Pell Grant funds from more than one school at a time.
So I also found out how the money is actually dispersed or awarded. For the most part this government grant is for students who do not yet have their bachelor degree and is only for post-bachelor degrees if you are getting a teacher certification. So the participating school either credits the Federal Pell Grant money to the student’s school account, pays the student directly, or a combination of both of these options. Students must be paid at least once per term. How great does all that sound?
So now that I found out all the basic information that I needed I was ready to apply! I did some more searching on the internet and while looking for Pell Grants I also discovered that there were hundreds and hundreds of other grants that I might qualify for as well! Wow! It’s amazing what a little internet searching will do! I found one site that offers a free CD that lists tons of government grants such as grants for housing, grants for education, grants for starting your own business, grants for minorities and many more. They even help you with the application process. The site I found was http://www.grantgenerator.com, they are pretty cool if you ask me and they are definitely worth checking out.
So to make a long story short I applied for my Federal Pell Grant and easily qualified. I received the money I needed for tuition and even got a few hundred dollars back in cash! That money sure helped especially since I’m a starving student! All I have to say is thanks President Obama! Thanks for helping me get my education! It’s great to be a citizen in this great country, even if it is struggling there are still options out there to help people.

0 Responses to “Pell Grant To Pay For School”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment